B.S. in Nutrition and Food Science

Meet the Faculty

Auld

Garry Auld, PhD

Professor
105 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7429
garry.auld@colostate.edu

View more about Garry Auld

Community and nutrition education programs; program evaluation (quantitative and qualitative); sustainable food system issues; interventions and assessments of limited resource audiences

Susan Baker

Susan Baker, Ed.D.

Professor/Extension Specialist EFNEP
102 Gifford Building
(970) 491-5798
susan.baker@colostate.edu

View more about Susan Baker

Community nutrition education; breastfeeding promotion and support, food resource management, food security, limited resource families (EFNEP), pregnant adolescents

Laura Bellows

Laura Bellows, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.

Associate Professor
107 Gifford Building
(970) 491-1305
laura.bellows@colostate.edu

View more about Laura Bellows

Nutrition education; public health nutrition; childhood obesity; early childhood audiences; health promotion and disease prevention; and physical activity

Eric Milholland

Kimberly Cox-York, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
212 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7148
Kimberly.cox-york@colostate.edu

View more about Kimberly Cox York

Adipose tissue redistribution with age and menopause; reciprocal regulation of estrogen metabolism and host microbiota with respect to metabolic disease

Leslie Cunningham-Sabo

Leslie Cunningham-Sabo, Ph.D., R.D.

Associate Professor
106 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6791
Leslie.cunningham-sabo@colostate.edu

View more about Leslie Cunningham-Sabo

Public health nutrition, food behavior change of children and adults through cooking, minority populations, community-based participatory research, translation of research to practice

foster

Michelle T. Foster, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
207 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6189
Michelle.foster@colostate.edu

View more about Michelle Foster

Adipose tissue regulation (metabolic and adipokine); diet-induced obesity and hepatic steatosis; visceral fatty acids and insulin resistance; adipose tissue removal-induced metabolic improvements

gentile

Christopher L. Gentile, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
208 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7416
Christopher.gentile@colostate.edu

View more about Christopher L. Gentile

Dietary regulation of cardiovascular function. Mechanisms of diet-induced cardiovascular abnormalities

harris

Mary Harris, Ph.D., R.D.

Professor
231 Gifford Building
(970) 491-7462
mary.harris@colostate.edu

View more about Mary Harris

Lipid metabolism, omega-3 fatty acids in pregnancy and cognitive development. Clinical Nutrition: Diabetes and kidney disease

Johnshon

Sarah A. Johnson, Ph.D. R.D.

Assistant Professor
206 Gifford Building
(970) 491-3807
Sarah.johnson@colostate.edu

View more about Sarah Johnson

Functional foods, bioactive compounds, dietary supplements, and other dietary interventions that can effectively prevent and/or improve both established and emerging risk factors

Chris Melby

Chris Melby, Dr.P.H.

Professor
226 Gifford Building
(970) 491-6736
Chris.melby@colostate.edu

View more about Chris Melby

Interaction of nutrition and exercise on features of the metabolic syndrome; energy balance and body weight regulation

David Sampson

David Sampson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
227 Gifford Building
(970) 491-5234
David.sampson@colostate.edu

View more about David Sampson

Tiffany Weir

Tiffany Weir, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
210 Gifford Building
(970) 491-4631
Tiffany.weir@colostate.edu

View more about Tiffany Weir

Effects of dietary components on gut microflora composition, microbial metabolism of plant compounds, fermented foods, intestinal health, food safety

Tiffany Weir

John William Wilson, M.S.

Instructor
214A Gifford Building
(970) 491-5551
john.wilson@colostate.edu

View more about John Wilson

Passion for teaching nutrition